Dilworth/Sedgefield Transition


Click here for the latest Elementary Transition Update.

Please click here to review a letter from the newly combined Dilworth SLT to Tara Sullivan, Central Learning Community Superintendent.    It states the level of support needed to continue and extend the outstanding programming that makes Dilworth Elementary an A+ School. If you have any questions, please reach out to a parent member of the SLT.

Following is the official CMS proposal that was approved by the CMS board on 5/24 for a combined Dilworth and Sedgefield Elementary School beginning 2018-2019 and Sedgefield Middle School beginning 2019-2020:

Final CMS Proposal 

We encourage everyone to sign up for CMS Listens.  This is one of the primary tools to connect parents with the latest updates on both the elementary pairing and Sedgefield Middle School transition.  Please click here and sign up.


Please click here to view the  CMS Sedgefield Middle School Newsletter, for current updates on the Sedgefield Middle School Plan.  We encourage everyone, including those only interested in elementary school, to view this letter and sign up for CMSListens.  This will enable you to receive frequent updates from CMS as well as ask questions and provide feedback regarding the student assignment changes.

Sedgefield Middle School Target State Document.  The goal of this document is to formalize a strong and clear vision for the new Sedgefield Middle school and outline the criteria necessary to execute that vision by the 2019-2020 School Year.  This document was designed to unify our communities with a powerful, singular voice and to maintain focus and accountability from the District and the School Board.

Segefield Middle School Transition overview.  This document was designed to explain and illustrate the changes that will take place over the next five years of transition at Sedgefield Middle school. It uses graphics to create a very easy to understand overview of the resulting demographics at the New Sedgefield Middle School.  This presentation was created by a parent but the content was confirmed by CMS.

Grandfathering Clarification.  This easy to follow document outlines the grandfathering provision that will impact current 5th graders whose home school in 2018-2019 will be AG as well as current 6th and 7th graders at AG who feed from DES.

February 1st Principal Chat Notes  – On February 1st, Principal Erik Turner hosted a Principal Chat in our media center.  This targeted third and fourth grade families.  These are the notes from that meeting.

Transportation Consensus Document – The consensus statement from the Dilworth Elementary, Eastover Elementary, MPTS, Sedgefield Neighborhood and Sedgefield Middle School representatives supports Principal Turner’s request to move to an earlier bell schedule in order to better recruit high quality teachers and faculty.  This request was submitted to Tara Sullivan as a sign of broad community support for this change.

March 20th Community Session – On March 20th, CMS and Principal Turner hosted a community wide session targeting families transitioning to Sedgefield Middle School.   The following documents were reviewed at this meeting:

  • Principal Turner’s overview of his plans to-date for the transition (click here).
  • CMS provided an updated data reflecting the demographic change over the transition years (click here).
  • CMS provided a response to the Target State Document that was submitted by communities impacted with the reassignment plan (click here).


The Dilworth PTA has created Transition Committees for both the elementary and middle school.  These teams are seeking all members of our community who want to be actively involved in the development and implementation of the plans for the schools.

  • Elementary Co-Chairs:  Molly Bilderback  and Mary Heath Swanson
  • Middle School Co-Chairs:  Meredith Murchison and Lara Carson

Elementary:  dilworth.sedgefield@gmail.com

Middle:   sedgefieldmiddle@gmail.com

DES PTA SLT Requests of CMS for Paired Elementary Schools